Commission requests Czech Republic and 10 Member States to fully transpose the Energy Efficiency Directive

The European Commission has requested eleven Member States (Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Spain, Finland, Hungary, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Poland, and Portugal) to ensure the full transposition of the Energy Efficiency Directive(2012/27/EU).

Under this Directive, Member States must achieve energy savings from 1 January 2014 to 31 December 2020. They have to do this by using Energy Efficiency Obligations Schemes and/or other targeted policy measures to drive energy efficiency improvements in households, industry buildings and transport.

The Directive had to be transposed into national law by 5 June 2014. The Commission continues to monitor the implementation of the Directive and will address any shortcomings in the future. The eleven Member States have now two months to comply with their obligations, following that the Commission may decide to refer these Member States to the Court of Justice of the EU and ask for financial penalties. More information about the Energy Efficiency Directive on the website of DG Energy.

Zdroj: Shortened Press release of the European Commission dated October 22, 2015